I think there is a misunderstanding.
shared volume? But isn’t that going to cause huge problems if two builds are accessing the same directory at the same time? And what about leftovers? I really want a clean folder for each checkout, are you saying it might contain binaries from a previous build?
The volume is shared by all steps (ie containers) in your pipeline, for the duration of a single build. When the build completes the volume is removed. This is the same behavior we had in 0.4.
I should mention that 0.4 and 0.5 share the same build runner. While there are changes one level above the build runner (yaml and secrets) the build runner itself and low level docker interactions have not changed in 0.5